No minimum orders on soap, balm, and lotion $3 soap and lotion samples Exact shipping at checkout

Tallow test results

Tallow lab test results and specification

We sent lot 26190 of the tallow in our body care and grass-fed bulk tallow to Light Labs, an ISO/IEC 17025-accredited lab in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Here is every result, what it means, and the specification that tallow is bought to. Our bar and liquid soap use a separate tallow, covered in the soap tallow section.

  • Light Labs, Ann Arbor, MI
  • Lot 26190, released July 31, 2026
  • No E. coli, Salmonella, or Staph detected
Rows of curing tallow soap bars

At a glance

Lot 26190 at a glance

Lot 26190

Every result from the lab

The tallow in our body care and Bulk Grass-Fed Grass-Finished Suet Tallow. Sample received July 17, 2026. Tested July 21 to 31. Results released July 31, 2026.

Results for lot 26190, with the method the lab used and the limit in our specification.
TestMethodResultOur specification
Acid valueAOCS Ca-5a-401.15 mg KOH/gFree fatty acids 0.80% max (this result is about 0.58%, as oleic acid)
Peroxide valueUV/Vis7.4 meq/kg10.0 meq/kg max
MoistureAOAC 925.10, loss on drying0.17% (dry matter 99.83%)0.2% max
Melting pointUSP 74144.7 °C (112 °F)Listed at 46.55 °C
E. coliUSP micro panelNot detectedNegative
SalmonellaUSP micro panelNot detectedNegative
Staphylococcus aureusUSP micro panelNot detectedNegative
Total coliformsUSP micro panel<10 CFU/gNegative
Total plate countUSP micro panel<10 CFU/gAerobic plate count negative
Total yeast and moldUSP micro panel<10 CFU/g eachMold and yeast negative
Look, texture, aromaOrganolepticWhite, opaque waxy solid; waxy, granular texture; aroma and flavor of beef or grill greaseWhite, solid; not deodorized

About the lab and this test. Tested by Light Labs, an ISO/IEC 17025-accredited laboratory. The certificate notes these particular tests sit outside the lab’s current scope of accreditation, and that some were performed at an outsourced location. The values relate only to the lot tested: a dated result for one representative lot, not a guarantee for every batch.

Full certificate available to wholesale and brand customers on request. Contact us to request it.

In plain language

What these numbers mean

Together, low moisture and a low peroxide value indicate a clean, fresh rendered fat.

  • Moisture

    0.17% means very little water is left after rendering, a sign of a well-rendered fat.

  • Peroxide value

    Measures early oxidation. Lower means fresher fat. This lot read 7.4 against our 10.0 maximum.

  • Acid value

    Measures free fatty acids from fat breakdown. 1.15 mg KOH/g is about 0.58%, under our 0.80% maximum.

  • Micro panel

    No E. coli, Salmonella, or Staph aureus detected, and every count below the lab’s 10 CFU/g reporting limit.

  • Melting point

    44.7 °C (112 °F) is why tallow stays firm in a jar or bar at room temperature.

  • Look and aroma

    White without bleaching, with the natural beef aroma of tallow that is not deodorized.

Specification

The specification our tallow is bought to

It covers the tallow in our body care and Bulk Grass-Fed Grass-Finished Suet Tallow.

Our tallow specification for body care and grass-fed bulk tallow. These are limits for every lot; the results above are for lot 26190.
PropertySpecification
ProductEdible rendered beef tallow. One ingredient: beef fat, with no additives.
Source and processingUSDA-inspected beef fat, dry rendered, not bleached or deodorized
Free fatty acids (FFA)0.80% max
Peroxide value10.0 meq/kg max
Moisture0.2% max
Insoluble impurities0.10% max
Titer42 °C min
Melting point46.55 °C (115.8 °F)
Smoke point450 °F (232 °C)
MicrobiologicalAerobic plate count, E. coli, Salmonella, Staph aureus, mold and yeast, and coliform: all negative
Shelf life2 years
Storage and shipping35 to 80 °F (2 to 27 °C)

Tallow in cosmetics. The tallow is edible-grade, from USDA-inspected beef fat, and its insoluble impurities are specified at 0.10% max, within the 0.15% limit FDA allows for tallow in cosmetics (21 CFR 700.27).

What this covers. Lot 26190 and this specification cover the tallow in our balms, whipped balm, eye balm, lotion, deodorant, and lip balm, and Bulk Grass-Fed Grass-Finished Suet Tallow. They do not cover Bulk Suet Tallow or our bar and liquid soap, which use a separate tallow (below). See our tallow standard.

Soap tallow

The tallow in our bar and liquid soap

Pasture-raised, grass-fed, grass-finished beef tallow from small US family farms, bought from a separate supplier. These figures come from our soap tallow supplier’s certificate of analysis (fatty acid profile by GC/MS, March 2026).

Fatty acid profile of our soap tallow, with the beef tallow reference range listed on the certificate.
Fatty acidFoundBeef tallow range
C18:1 (oleic and other 18:1)45.8%31 to 50%
C16:0 (palmitic)24.5%20 to 37%
C18:0 (stearic)19.3%18.9 to 40%
C14:0 (myristic)2.3%1 to 6%
C16:1 (palmitoleic)1.9%1 to 9%
C18:2 (linoleic and other 18:2)1.8%1 to 5%
C17:0 (heptadecanoic)1.3%1 to 3%
C15:0 (pentadecanoic)0.3%1 to 3%
Saturated, monounsaturated, polyunsaturated47.7%, 48.6%, 1.8%No range given
Largest individual fatty acidsOleic 37.4%, palmitic 24.5%, stearic 19.3%, elaidic 7.2%, myristic 2.3%No range given
Safety data for our soap tallow, from the supplier’s safety data sheet (2015).
Safety dataSupplier SDS
Hazard classificationNot classified as hazardous under OSHA 29 CFR 1910 (GHS)
CompositionBeef tallow 99 to 100% (CAS 61789-97-7)
NFPA ratingHealth 0, flammability 1, reactivity 0
StorageCool and sheltered, away from heat and direct sunlight
HandlingOil-soaked rags can heat up on their own; keep them in a closed metal container
TransportNot regulated (DOT, IATA, IMDG)

About this certificate. It is our soap tallow supplier’s own certificate of analysis, not a third-party or accredited lab test. The batch is not stated, so it represents the product, not a specific lot of our soap. Ranges are the beef tallow ranges in Firestone, Physical and Chemical Characteristics of Oils, Fats, and Waxes, 3rd ed.; C15:0 read below its range, and the other seven are within range.

Supplier documents available to wholesale customers on request. The soap tallow fact sheet (PDF) summarizes both. Contact us to request the originals.

Downloads

Three PDFs for your files

Each is one page, with our name and contact details, ready to share with a buyer or retailer.

  • Tallow test results

    Every result for lot 26190 of our body care and grass-fed bulk tallow, with methods, dates, and the lab’s accreditation note.

    Download test results (PDF)
  • Tallow specification

    The limits our body care and grass-fed bulk tallow is bought to: free fatty acids, peroxide, moisture, impurities, and micro.

    Download specification (PDF)
  • Soap tallow fact sheet

    Fatty acid profile and safety data, from the supplier’s documents, for the tallow in our bar and liquid soap: pasture-raised, grass-fed, grass-finished, from small US family farms.

    Download fact sheet (PDF)

FAQ

Tallow testing questions

Still have a question? Call 612-208-6516 or email hello@wholesaletallowsoapusa.com.

All frequently asked questions
Is your tallow lab tested?

The tallow in our body care and grass-fed bulk tallow is. Lot 26190 of that tallow was tested by Light Labs, an ISO/IEC 17025-accredited laboratory in Ann Arbor, Michigan, with results released July 31, 2026: moisture 0.17%, peroxide value 7.4 meq/kg, acid value 1.15 mg KOH/g, and no E. coli, Salmonella, or Staph aureus detected. Our bar and liquid soap use a separate tallow, documented by its supplier’s certificate of analysis.

What about the tallow in your soap?

Our bar and liquid soap use pasture-raised, grass-fed, grass-finished beef tallow from small US family farms, bought from a separate supplier. Our soap tallow supplier’s certificate of analysis (fatty acid profile by GC/MS, March 2026) lists oleic acid 37.4%, palmitic acid 24.5%, and stearic acid 19.3%. It is the supplier’s own certificate, not a third-party test, and the batch is not stated, so it represents the product, not a specific lot of our soap. See the soap tallow section and the soap tallow fact sheet. The supplier documents are available to wholesale customers on request.

Is every batch tested?

No. These results are for one representative lot, and the values relate only to that lot. Every lot of that tallow is bought to the same written specification, and every batch we make is recorded with a lot number, so each unit traces back to its batch.

Are these tests covered by the lab’s accreditation?

Not these particular tests. Light Labs is an ISO/IEC 17025-accredited laboratory, and its certificate notes these tests sit outside its current scope of accreditation, with some performed at an outsourced location.

Can I get the full lab certificate?

Yes. The full certificate is available to wholesale and brand customers on request. Contact us to request it.

Are your finished soaps and body care lab tested?

No. This test covers the tallow, not a finished product. If your retailer or marketplace asks for testing on a finished product, you choose, arrange, and pay for the lab, and we ship samples to your lab at cost.

Does the tallow meet the FDA limit for tallow in cosmetics?

Its specification does. The tallow is edible-grade, from USDA-inspected beef fat, and its insoluble impurities are specified at 0.10% max, within the 0.15% limit FDA allows for tallow in cosmetics (21 CFR 700.27).

Can I put these results on my label or listing?

Not as a claim about your product. The results describe one lot of our tallow, not your finished soap or balm, so keep test results off front labels, shelf cards, and listings. You can share this page or the PDFs with a buyer who asks.

How long does the tallow keep?

Our specification gives a 2-year shelf life, stored and shipped between 35 and 80 °F. See Bulk Grass-Fed Grass-Finished Suet Tallow for buckets and blocks.

Questions before you order?

Talk to the people who make it

Order online with no minimum on soap and most body care (lip balm starts at 50 tubes), and order custom labels and soap boxes online too. For labeling, a custom formula, or a complete brand build, reach out and we'll help you pick the right path. To ship each order to your customers, use TallowPal, our team's no-minimum private label app.

Send us a message

Tell us what you're planning. We'll reply by email.

    This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.